Books On My Radar – Vol. 5

Even more future releases I can’t wait for!

So I’ve done 4 of these posts in the past. And I’ve gone back and updated those with release dates and covers!

So if you’re looking to add some 2021 releases to your TBR definitely check out the previous installments of this.


1. The Wolf and the Woodsman by Ava Reid

Release Date: June 8, 2021

This is being compared to Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik and The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden. It’s a historical fiction debut inspired by Hungarian history and Jewish mythology. It follows a young pagan woman with hidden powers and a one-eyed captain as they form an unlikely alliance to thwart a tyrant. 

2. For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten

Release Date: June 15, 2021

This is another “wolf” book being called a cross between Uprooted by Naomi Novik and The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden… being released the very next week. Odd. But I’m definitely not mad about it.

This is a Little Red Riding Hood retelling following a young women who is destined to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood to help save her kingdom.

“But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse.”

3. Under the Whispering Door by T.J. Klune

Release Date: March 2, 2021

This is TJ Klune’s follow up contemporary fantasy to A House by the Cerulean Sea. I can’t sum it up any better than this pitch –

a contemporary fantasy… about a ghost who refuses to cross over and the ferryman he falls in love with”

4. To Break a Covenant by Alison Ames

Release Date: June 1, 2021

Okay I won’t lie – my first time reading this synopsis was for this post 😅 I saw the pitch

“a chilling, feminist thriller, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Sawkill Girls.”

and literally read no further.

This follows a haunted mining town that is experiencing strange phenomena – sleepwalking, night terrors, and voices no one else can here. A group of girls bans together and enters the abandoned mines, determined to figure out what is haunting the town.

5. The Dead and the Dark by Courtney Gould

Release Date: August 3, 2021

This is actually another YA thriller following a mysterious, haunted town and a group of friends trying to discover the truth behind the city’s ghosts.

“Courtney Gould’s thrilling debut The Dead and the Dark is about the things that lurk in dark corners, the parts of you that can’t remain hidden, and about finding home in places—and people—you didn’t expect.


♥♥♥♥

4 thoughts on “Books On My Radar – Vol. 5

      • Oooh do you have Wolfsong? His MM shifter romance – SO GOOD!! I read Cerulean Sea this year and The Extraordinaries and they both were excellent, different but just wonderful!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s