BOOK TOUR! To Break a Covenant by Alison Ames

Title: To Break a Covenant

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Author: Alison Ames

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Horror

Tropes/Themes: F/F Romance, Haunted Town, Girl Gang, Ghosts

Edition/Pages: Paperback, 320 Pages

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo

Summary

Content Warnings: Gore! lots of gore/blood (human and animal), body horror (human and animal), claustrophobia, hallucinations/nightmares, death, animal death, parent death (mentioned), parental conflict (being afraid of a parent), mention of alcohol/drinking, mention of self-harm, mention of divorce, mental illness (perceived/actual), mention of child death/killing, mention of suicide, drowning, paranormal activity.

Debut voice Alison Ames delivers with a chilling, feminist thriller, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls and Sawkill Girls.

Moon Basin has been haunted for as long as anyone can remember. It started when an explosion in the mine killed sixteen people. The disaster made it impossible to live in town, with underground fires spewing ash into the sky. But life in New Basin is just as fraught. The ex-mining town relies on its haunted reputation to bring in tourists, but there’s more truth to the rumors than most are willing to admit, and the mine still has a hold on everyone who lives there.Clem and Nina form a perfect loop—best friends forever, and perhaps something more. Their circle opens up for a strange girl named Lisey with a knack for training crows, and Piper, whose father is fascinated with the mine in a way that’s anything but ordinary. The people of New Basin start experiencing strange phenomena—sleepwalking, night terrors, voices that only they can hear. And no matter how many vans of ghost hunters roll through, nobody can get to 

My Review + Mood Board

Thank you so much to Page Street for providing an ARC copy! All thoughts and opinions are still my own.

When I saw this book compared to Wilder Girls and Sawkill Girls I knew I needed to add it to my TBR immediately. And this spooky story fit that description perfectly! I absolutely love the atmospheric setting and creepy small town vibes of this!

I loved small town, paranormal stories and this one was done fantastically. I loved that there was a multi-media aspect to it by having episode footage interspersed between chapters. It was a really fun and effective way to develop the history of the town.

But like in the 2 books this is compared to, this really shines in the female friendship. These girls are ride or die friends and I loved following them. They’re all so unique and different from one another and I loved that they all had their own voice. 

Without going into spoilers, this ending won’t be for everyone. But I thought it was absolutely genius. Ugh I just really loved how this all came together and it’s definitely a book that will stick with me. 

If you love ghost hunters, haunted towns, and fierce female friendships – get this one on your TBR immediately! It’s the perfect edition to a spooky TBR this fall. And I absolutely cannot wait to see what Alison Ames writes next. This was a wonderful debut and I’ll definitely be picking up more from them in the future!

Meet the Author

Alison Ames is a writer based in Colorado. Her debut novel To Break A Covenant will be published in fall 2021.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Tour Schedule

September 20th
lousbookstuff – Review & Favourite Quotes
Rampant Reading Reviews – Review
I Dream in Books – Review & TikTok

September 21st
Pages & Plot – Promo Post
Emelie’s Books – Review & Mood Board
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review
Robinlea BookBird – Review, Playlist & Favourite Quotes

September 22nd
Stuck in Fiction – Top 5 Reasons to Read To Break a Covenant
JD’s Book Journal – Review & Favourite Quotes
Bibliosini – Review & Favourite Quotes
Paperbacks and Planners – Review & Mod Board

September 23rd
Kait Plus Books – Journal Spread & Promo
Althea Is Reading – Review & Mood Board
Books and Babble – Review & Playlist

September 24th
The Book Dutchesses – Promo Post
A Book & Chai – Review
Stuck in the Stacks – Review
The Broke Book Blog – Review, Playlist & TikTok

September 25th
Nine Bookish Lives – Review
Forthenovellovers – Review
Inking & Thinking – Top 5 Reasons to Read To Break a Covenant & 15 Reactions While Reading to Break a Covenant
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review

September 26th
Reading Stewardess – Review & Mood Board
Read With Holy – Review
Justice For Readers – Review & Mood Board

5 thoughts on “BOOK TOUR! To Break a Covenant by Alison Ames

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s